Bite That Tongue

--

The things they find amusing. . .

I had a student who, in teacher vernacular, was “there for the party.” He came to my class with sloppy, half-finished work but was always ready with a funny one-liner.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I love math and I love comedy, but I believe in enjoying them separately. Justin had a stand-up routine that was truly impressive for an 11-year-old. Trouble was, it went on ALL DAY.

I decided to wait until the first report card to schedule a conference but his grandpa beat me to it.

I got a phone call from the nicest man in the world. He thanked me for taking time to talk with him told me, “I looked in Infinite Campus and saw that Justin is missing some assignments. Also, his grades seem to be falling.”

The first thought that came to mind was, “That’s called cause and effect, sir.” But instead, I suggested we get together with Justin and discuss his choices.

I hope you will applaud my restraint. : )

--

--